The Dig, by John Preston

My Aunt and Uncle, who live in Suffolk, sent me this book. It is a fictional account of the discovery of the buried ship at Sutton Hoo. I was aware of the name Sutton Hoo, but beyond knowing it was a site of historical significance, that was it.

The Dig, by John Preston

The book is in four main sections, each written in first person narrative from the perspective of one of the major players. Having read the book, I then read up about the real dig (in 1939); all the main characters are in the novel, and the key events seem to be faithfully represented.

While it’s not a gripping story, it was very easy to read. It prompted me to read up about Sutton Hoo online, and I’m definitely interested in going to see the site, so the book obviously engaged me.

This entry was posted in Books, Fiction, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

