Lucky Jim, by Kingsley Amis

When I started reading this, I feared it was going to be terribly dated, and that for a comic novel I wouldn’t find it very funny. It’s about a young lecturer in an un-named redbrick university, coming to the end of his first year, and fearing that he wouldn’t get a second one.

Hapless lecturer is a fairly well-worn genre these days, but I suspect it wasn’t when Lucky Jim was first published, in 1954. I steadily warmed up to the book: the writing is excellent, and it’s very well observed.

As I neared the end I wanted to keep reading, to finish it off. I was reading it in bed, but ended up laughing out loud and waking my partner, so had to put the book down. I think that’s a first for me.

My concise review would read: surprisingly good, and surprisingly enjoyable.

This entry was posted in Books, Reading, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

