The Hobbit

I recently re-read The Hobbit; the last time I read it was at least two decades, if not three decades, ago.

I really enjoyed it, partly due to the nostalgia of revisiting an old friend. It was much more clearly a children’s book than I expected / remembered. The story-line is very linear: first this happens, then this second thing, then a third thing, and so on. It’s a much lighter book than Lord of the Rings, and I fear that they’ll have made the film version of the hobbit more like LOTR.

The other thing that struck me was the complete lack of female characters, even in minor roles. I don’t remember noticing that last time I read The Hobbit, but I was probably into fantasy and science fiction at the time, and reading lots of “blokes go off on a quest” novels.

This entry was posted in Books, Reading, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

